It’s been a while….

It’s been a very long time since my last post and a lot has happened since then!

I am proud to say I’m a mother of baby boy who has stolen my heart to say the least. So things have been anything but boring. Thought I’d share a little of my day and a little recipe to top it off.

I’m not sure if I would classify my husband and I as being foodies, but we definitely are people who love food. The colors, the flavors and the endless ways to cook up a feast is just a few reasons why we love food. Which is also another reason why we are avid goers of the Farmer’s Market.

However, this year, we have a new member of our family. And even though he’s only 5 months, we figured we’d start him young in getting to know his local farmers. This trip marks his 3rd time and definitely won’t be his last.

DSC_0005

his appa (dad) strapping him in for a day at the farmer’s market.

So we head into the crowd at the Baltimore’s Farmer’s Market located just under 83 in Baltimore City. This probably is my favorite farmers market out of all the farmer’s market’s I’ve experienced in Maryland. They just have so much to offer to satisfy my cooking and food knowledge. The enthusiasm of these vendors/farmers adds to enticement of wanting to buy and eat everything they have.

DSC_0010

we love meeting up with friends!

Always starting off the right way with Zeke’s coffee and meeting up with a few friends, we venture into the “jungle” to see what daily offerings we can find.

DSC_0006

Zeke’s Coffee

DSC_0008

So this place…. Farm to Face…. MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE SPOT FOR A FALAFEL and i mean that. Not sure if it’s the actual falafel I’m in love with or the fact that the ingredients are so fresh or that they have raw collard greens as an option for your wrap. Whatever it is, it will have you anticipating the next Sunday all week till you can get your hands on another falafel.

Another note worthy spot to eat at here is the Mushroom Stand…. by far the best oyster mushrooms fritters I’ve ever had in my life. And beware the wait is long, but SO WORTH it.

This farmer’s market trip, my purchases were lacking because we had done a little shopping for food for the week beforehand, but I did get my hands on some peppers (for lomo saltado to be made this week) and my husband grabbed a few apples he’s never even heard of before.

All in all it was a good day for eats, which continued into dinner. I didn’t grab anything from the Farmer’s market for dinner tonight but I definitely knew what I was gonna cook up. I had been planning it for weeks…..

My Umma’s Fried Chicken.

It was fried chicken I grew up with. My mom(aka Umma) used to make by far the best tasting chicken I’ve ever had. Don’t get me wrong, my downfall is Popeye’s chicken, but this recipe strikes home for me. These drumsticks are fried up using potato starch, that gives it a nice crunch. I will end with this recipe. Hopefully this won’t be my last post till months later! Thanks for catching up with me!

DSC_0060

My Umma’s Fried Chicken

I used no specific measurements

Ingredients:

Chicken Drumsticks(you can use wings as well)
Soy Sauce
Grated Ginger
Grated Garlic
Brown Sugar
Potato Starch

Mix soy sauce, ginger, garlic and brown sugar. Taste and see if the flavors right to you. There is no right or wrong amount in this. Next, peel the skins off the drumsticks and discard (if using wings, leave skins on). Take a knife and poke little slits into fleshy part of the chicken. This will help the marinade flavor the chicken. Put chicken into large plastic bag/ large tupperware and pour marinade over chicken and refrigerate overnight.

Pull out from fridge when ready to fry up. (I used a deep fryer.) Heat oil up to 375 degrees and dredge each drumstick lightly in potato starch and drop into fryer and fry for about 8-10 minutes depending on your fryer.

Let sit for 5 minutes before serving. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

