.The year of the cotton.

It may only be Tuesday, but my husband and I started the week off on a good note with our 2 year anniversary – the year where the wife receives cotton from her husband. 2 years seemed to have passed by so quickly and I feel like a lot has happened within the 2 years of us saying ‘I do’. I just hoped I savored every moment for the past two year and not a moment was taken for granted… just like our anniversary dinner.

For about a week, we pondered on where we should celebrate our two year anniversary and toyed between a few restaurants we’ve been itching to try, but in a last minute switch we chose the highly recommended Parts & Labor.

Let me begin by saying, if you’re vegetarian THIS is not the place to go. Parts & Labor, located in the Remington area of Baltimore, MD, has the only butcher shop I know of attached to the restaurant. The minute we walked in we were greeted and seated. The atmosphere was definitely one to like and the smell…. OH MY… THE SMELL. It was almost a preview of what to come. The fact that the grill is located in an open area of the dining room floor pretty much told me, “hey, this place knows what it’s doing.”

We quickly decided on drinks followed by a back and forth debate on what to order. This is only because we pretty much wanted everything on the menu, but our pockets and our stomach would limit us to just a few things. We ordered the raw cheeseburger (yes, the meat was raw. happy.), crispy pig ears, braised beef shank with polenta, rare flank steak with a herb relish & to top it all off we ordered the bread pudding. I could sit here and tell you how good each dish was, but honestly I don’t think you would want to read a novel at the moment (nor do I want to write one.). So I’ll let the picture tell you…

11878881_10206717941404291_6576132878967596841_o

Parts & Labor. Our wedding anniversary meal.

With all this meat talking, let’s move on to what was on the Tuesday menu at Casa de Chalice…..

In the spirit of red meat, my husband and I have been itching to try and make a replica of one of our favorite dishes that we had tried for the first time in NY. These were things we had never thought would come together in one dish, but it works so well!…. Lomo Saltado had won our food loving hearts!

DSC_0086

I thought I’d be slaving away in the kitchen with this meal, but it was so simple and easy to make. I also realized ‘to each their own’ with this recipe. I’m guessing there is a classic way to make this dish, but from reading up on people’s recipe on Lomo Saltado, everyone’s was different, including mine.

DSC_0080

Chalice’s Lomo Saltado
Serving size for 2

Ingredients:

1 1/2 Medium Onions – cut into wedges
2 vine tomatoes – peeled, seeds scooped out, and cut into wedges
2 bell pepers – cut into strips
3 cloves of garlic – cut up into little strips
1 – 1.5 lbs of meat (chicken, beef or pork)
1 – 1.5 teaspoons of cumin (to your liking)
1.5 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar
1.5 tablespoons of soy sauce
2 tablespoons of chopped cilantro (substitute parsley if not a fan of cilantro)
1 stalk of scallion – chopped for garnish (optional)
French fries
White rice

Instructions:

*bake/fry french fries in your own desired way. I took the easy way due to time and just baked up pre cut fries.
*Make white rice your own desired way as well. I just made rice in my rice cooker.

Heat up wok with a little bit of oil and cook meat till browned. Pull meat out of pan and place aside on a plate.
Add onions, bell peppers and garlic in the same wok the meat was cooked in and cook on high heat till they are softened and slightly brown. Mix in tomatoes. Add in the meat, cumin, soy sauce, vinegar and mix. Pull off heat and add in cilantro. Serve over french fries and sprinkle scallions on top. White rice can be served on the side. Enjoy!

DSC_0089

something to wash it down with is always a plus!

Again, this recipe doesn’t have to be followed to a ‘T’. Feel free to take it and switch it up any way you like. I’m even thinking substituting in tofu for the meat for my vegetarian fellows. If anyone does try this, let me know! I’d love to know how it turned out! And as always, let me know if there are tweaks that could make this recipe better!

Leave a Reply

